Back to read


Shogun Audio – Way of the Warrior Preview


Always looking to switch things up Shogun Audio take to plan B in Brixton, for the next in their series of the Way Of The Warrior. With such a vibe in that area of London at the moment, it’s the perfect place for an intimate album launch party with some of Shogun’s select players. With the second edition of the Way of The Warrior series coming 2 years after the 1st one in 2011, it’s embracing the same value then and now. Experimenting with a variety of different tempos, and different nuances within drum n bass, the release has all of those artists you expect from Shogun, plus Addison Groove, Sam Binga, and Mefjus, representing a new wave of artists releasing with the label.

Here is the tracklist for the release:
01. Optiv & BTK – Picture Perfect
02. Icicle – Anxious
03. Friction & K Tee – Jupiter (Mefjus Remix)
04. DLR – Sleep Talk
05. Total Science – Positive Vibration
06. Addison Groove & Sam Binga – Rzor (Friction Remix)
07. SpectraSoul – Slippin’
08. Technimatic – Bristol
09. Spectrasoul – Hearts
10. Rockwell – Sick Of It All
11. Joe Ford – Stride
12. Fourward – On A Knife Edge

The Artists playing at the launch:

Whether he’s in the studio, on radio, or on the decks Friction is busier than ever, but not forgetting his roots he’s staying true to the Shogun Audio family, as the label moves onwards and upwards. For someone that spends as much time in the booth as Friction it’s a testament to his passion that each set always breaks the mould.

Following the footsteps of Friction and fresh off the back of his residency with In New DJs We Trust, we know to expect the unexpected when it come to Rockwell on the decks. Consistently pushing the boundaries in what is deemed acceptable to play at what is essentially a dnb night, have helped him pick up an army of fans that like the innovative mentality he embraces.

From humble beginnings, Joe Ford’s ascent has been heavily supported by Shogun Audio, but interest in him has been spread much further. His track stride on the Album is going to be played across the land for many years to come!

With Shogun 10 years also on the Horizon, they’ll be plenty more coming up in 2014 from these fellas!

Shogun Audio & LWE present…

London Launch
@ Plan B, Brixton

Friction (2 hours)
Rockwell / Spectrasoul
Joe Ford

SP:MC / Linguistics / Double J